SNSF Fellows Conference

Hear from 52 SNSF fellows, plus each day will have an opening keynote, as well as a panel on COVID-19 featuring speakers from the frontlines of the pandemic-response.

Event Details

Location

online

Date

Monday, June 29th - Thursday July 2nd, 2020 | 12pm EDT | 9am PDT | 6pm CEST

Each year the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) awards tens of fellowships to Swiss-trained early-career postdocs who want to enhance their scientific profile by working at a research institution abroad. The US is currently home to more than 300 SNSF Fellows, with many more spread out around the world.

Like most researchers, their work too has been affected by the pandemic, as has their ability to participate in scientific conferences and present the results of their scientific work. Two SNSF Fellows, Sandra Brügger and Tobias Schneider (both alumni of the University of Bern), decided to do something about it and partnered with swissnex Boston and swissnex San Francisco, as well as with the Swiss National Science Foundation to organize this multidisciplinary SNSF Fellows Conference.

From June 29th to July 2nd, you will get to hear from the global community of SNSF Fellows giving short presentations on their research across disciplines, from the humanities, social sciences, medicine, biology, mathematics, to the natural and engineering sciences.

To spice up the scientific bonanza, each day will feature an opening keynote, as well as a panel on COVID-19 featuring speakers from the frontlines of the pandemic-response.

For a more detailed agenda and the speaker abstracts click here.

Agenda (EDT | PDT)

 

Monday,
June 29

 

Start

11:45am EDT | 8:45am PDT

12:00pm EDT | 9:00am PDT

12:25pm EDT | 9:25am PDT

2:00pm EDT | 11:00am PDT

3:30pm EDT | 12:30pm PDT

4:00pm EDT | 1:00pm PDT

5:00pm EDT | 2:00pm PDT

Session

Welcome and Introductions

Keynote Prof. Raymond S. Bradley (University of Massachusetts Amherst): The first settlers on the Faroe Islands in the North Atlantic

Session 1 Humanities

Session 2 Humanities

Panel on Covid-19: Perspectives from Skilled Nursing Facilities

Session 3 Social Sciences

Networking Session on Remo

Tuesday,
June 30

 

Start

12:00pm EDT | 9:00am PDT


12:25pm EDT | 9:25am PDT

2:00pm EDT | 11:00am PDT

3:30pm EDT | 12:30pm PDT


4:00pm EDT | 1:00pm PDT

5:00pm EDT | 2:00pm PDT

Session

Keynote Prof. Theresa Watts (University of Reno): Influencing Policy Through Research: Achieving Universal Hepatitis C Testing

Session 4 Social Sciences

Session 5 Medicine

Panel on Covid-19: Perspectives from Hospital Workers in COVID-19 Hotspots NY & CA

Session 6 Medicine & Biology

Networking Session on Remo

Wednesday,
July 1

 

Start

12:00pm EDT | 9:00am PDT



12:25pm EDT | 9:25am PDT

2:00pm EDT | 11:00am PDT

3:30pm EDT | 12:30pm PDT

4:00pm EDT | 1:00pm PDT

5:00pm EDT | 2:00pm PDT

Session

Keynote Prof. Joseph R. McConnell (Desert Research Institute): Aerosols and Ancient History in Arctic Ice

Session 7 Biology

Session 8 Biology

Panel on Covid-19: Perspectives from Ambulance Workers

Session 9 Mathematics, Natural Sciences & Engineering

Networking Session on Remo

Thursday,
July 2

Start

12:00pm EDT | 9:00am PDT



12:25pm EDT | 9:25am PDT

2:00pm EDT | 11:00am PDT

3:30pm EDT | 12:30pm PDT

4:00pm EDT | 1:00pm PDT

5:00pm EDT | 2:00pm PDT

Session

Keynote Prof.  Monica M. Arienzo (Desert Research Institute): Microplastic presence in alpine environments of the Sierra Nevada, U.S.

Session 10 Mathematics, Natural Sciences & Engineering

Session 11 Mathematics, Natural Sciences & Engineering

Keynote Prof. Ajay Sethi (University of Wisconsin-Madison): Misinformation and Conspiracies during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Session 12 Mathematics, Natural Sciences & Engineering

Networking Session on Remo

 


Links to Join

Conference Links*

Networking Links

Monday June 29

Zoom Link Day 1


Remo Link Day 1


Tuesday June 30

Zoom Link Day 2


Remo Link Day 2


Wednesday July 1

Zoom Link Day 3


Remo Link Day 3


Thursday July 2

Zoom Link Day 4 Remo Link Day 4

*If the Zoom conference room is full, we will also be live streaming to YouTube here*


Keynote Speakers 


Conference Chairs 

Dr. Sandra O. Brugger – Desert Research Institute

Sandra is interested in long-term and large-scale interactions of vegetation-, land use-, fire-, pollution-, and climate reconstructed from natural archives. She applies optical microfossil analyses combined with molecular proxies in ice archives from the poles to the tropics for the past centuries to millennia.

 

 

Dr. Tobias Schneider – University of Massachusetts Amherst

Tobias is interested in reconstructing climate, environmental change and environmental pollution based on lake sediments. He applies a range of techniques, such as lipid biomarker analyses, hyperspectral imaging, µXRF scanning, radionuclide dating and climate data analyses to reconstruct changes over the Anthropocene and Holocene.

Top